• Connect With Me!!!

  • June 2013
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Top Posts & Pages

    What I Ate Wednesday
    Well Hellllooo There 2014! What I Ate Wednesday
    Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2013
    Blog Update
    The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap
  • Great Food Blogger

    The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2013
  • Upcoming Races

    Races2Run Ovarian CancerSeptember 4, 2013
    Running on color :)~
  • Blend Retreat

    I'm Attending Blend
  • HLB

  • HLB

  • Foodie Blog Roll

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blogdash

What I Ate Wednesday #7

It’s Wednesday Peeps! Happy Hump Day ~ Happy WIAW ~ Happy 1 More Day Closer to Friday Day! Happy Sensible Snacking Day, well you get what I’m talking about……….Thanks for hosting Jenn!

 

My day always starts with coffee and some sort of smoothie or green drink. Today I combined the two and opted for an Iced Coffee Protein Shake.

 

20130619-092823.jpg

Since I’m back on my P90X regime, meals are stricter than before, so for lunches I’ve been consistently packing some sort of salad. This was a small green salad and I also had my first Tomato & Basil Salad of the summer.  I combined the two for a nice light veggie packed lunch.

20130619-092851.jpg

My sensible snacking choices today were air popped popcorn drizzled with a little coconut oil. Yum! And a product I was introduced to at the Blend Retreat; The Good Bean. I picked up a pack of this Spicy Chili & Lime flavor at my local Whole Foods. A Chobani Coconut w/Toasted Almond and Chocolate Bits, and a Blue Print Cleanse Drink ~ Pineapple, Apple, Mint with added fresh mint.

20130619-092802.jpg

And then for dinner……….

I had the pleasure of meeting Casey who is also a local Philly blogger. She blogs over @Salted Plates. We met one night while perusing the #Blogsmarter Twitter Chat trying to learn to better our blogs! We’ve been chatting and keeping up with each other and our blogs ever since. Last Wednesday, we decided to meet face-to-face. Something that not all bloggers get to do while building friendships online. I was thrilled that we could make it happen.  We enjoyed a lovely evening at an event called Dining Under the Stars.

20130619-093351.jpg

Every Wednesday night during the summer months they  host what is called Dining Under The Stars where they close down the main street and all the restaurants in town drag out their tables and chairs and set up outside dining areas. The weather last week was PERFECT for dining alfresco and meeting new friends.

20130619-093400.jpg

We decided to check out the local Indian restaurant that I’ve been dying try. (Indian food is a little out of my family’s comfort zone so far ~ but I’m working on them, so I was excited that someone else would go with me).

We quickly ordered our drinks and an order of Garlic Naan w/ Raita Sauce.

20130619-092755.jpg

I ordered, for my main meal, the Punjabi Chana Masala.  It is a dish consisting of chick peas and onions in a spicy tomato broth. I should have asked for a little more spice in the dish, but my dinner had great flavor none the less. Both dishes were served with fragrant bowl basmati rice. Casey ordered some type of Paneer dish (I don’t recall exactly which one) but it look phenomenal as well, and I think she enjoyed her meal just as much. We chatted about our blogs, our families, our cooking and especially gardening and CSA’s. It was a great night and I hope we can meet up again soon and maybe add a few new local bloggers to the group.  If you are a Philadelphia area blogger and want to get together ~ let’s chat!

Hope this post inspires you to meet new friends, snack on good healthy eats, and try out a local new restaurant.

Happy WIAW!